Thursday, November 03, 2011

Did you know this about Candy and vegetarianism?

A heap of HARIBO gummy bears
This post is in honor of National Candy Day which is celebrated on November 4th every year in the United States. We found a few interesting facts we wanted to share with our candy loving readers.

Some candy, including marshmallows and gummi bears, contain gelatin derived from animal collagen, a protein found in skin and bones, and is thus avoided by vegetarians and vegans. "Kosher gelatin" is also unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans, as it is derived from fish bones. Other substances, such as agar, pectin, starch and gum arabic may also be used as setting and gelling agents, and can be used in place of gelatin.

Other ingredients commonly found in candy that are not suitable for vegetarian or vegan diets include carmine, a red dye made from cochineal beetles, and confectioner's glaze, which may contain wings or other insect parts. wikipedia
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Wow right!?

No comments:

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...